Manchester United and Real Madrid Commit for 2006

Historic Clubs To Send Super Group Teams To Dallas Cup XXVII

Tournament manager Randy Jones confirmed Manchester United of England and Real Madrid of Spain as the first two Super Group commitments for Dallas Cup XXVII. Dallas Cup XXVII will be played April 9-April 16, 2006.


This is a great announcement for the Dallas Cup. These clubs have the two most prestigious histories in football. Many of their top players started their young careers as players in Dallas Cup. It is a testament to the level of competition we have at Dallas Cup that these two teams have already committed to play in next years Dallas Cup, said Randy Jones, Tournament Manager.


Manchester United is considered one of the most storied professional sports franchises in the world. They are winners of two European Championship Cups (1968, 1999), eight FA Premier League titles (1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, and 2003) and seven Football League Division One championship (1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, and 1967).


After over 100 years Real Madrid has positioned itself alongside Manchester United as one of the top football clubs in the world. In 2002, they captured the one piece of football hardware that had eluded them when they captured the Europe Super Cup in Monaco. Real Madrid is the only European team to retain possession of the European Championship Cup five consecutive times and nine times overall (1955-56, 1956-57,1957-58, 1958-59, 1959-60, 1965-66, 1997-98, 1999-00, and 2001-02).


Dallas Cup officials also recently announced that they are planning on expanding the tournament field to include U15 and U13 groups and that Frisco Sports & Entertainment Center will play host to the Olympic-style opening ceremonies as well as feature games and additional matches.


Dallas Cup is the premier international youth soccer tournament in the world. In its twenty-six year history Dallas Cup has hosted teams from all over the United States and the world. Soccer superstars including David Beckham, Kleberson, Wayne Rooney, Raul, Landon Donovan, DeMarcus Beasley, and Freddy Adu have participated in Dallas Cup as young amateurs. Additional information about the Dallas Cup as well as the Dallas is Diversity program can be found at


Dallas Cup media inquiries can be directed to Elon Werner at 214-244-1184 or .

dc logo

dc logo